Tags

, , , , , , ,

For Titus’ first birthday party, I had the idea of doing a Pooh party. No, not a poo party, a Winnie-the-Pooh party, because of my love of the original A.A. Milne books, which my Grandma Peggy introduced me to at a young age by way of these books on tape. We had originally planned on having it outside in the back yard area of our apartment complex, which would have been appropriate since we have a little wooded area back there (a.k.a. the Hundred Acre Wood), but the morning weather forecast showed a chance of rain right around party time, so we opted to have everything indoors, which was fine, though it was a lovely day out and the storm clouds dissipated before they reached us anyway.

I made a paper bunting with yarn, Scotch tape, and scrapbook paper. And there is Pooh’s blue balloon. “When you go after honey with a balloon, the great thing is not to let the bees know you’re coming. Now, if you have a green balloon, they might think you were only part of the tree, and not notice you, and if you have a blue balloon, they might think you were only part of the sky, and not notice you, and the question is: Which is most likely?”

We held the party in the late afternoon, so instead of a full meal, we wanted to serve just a small smackerel of something. Though, I don’t know about anyone else, but I ended up eating a full hotdog’s worth of Piglets-in-a-Blanket, plenty of vegetables from Rabbit’s garden, and a rather generous piece of Chai-Spiced Carrot Cake with Honey Cream Cheese Frosting. I was feeling somewhat stout myself when all was said and done.

For beverages, I couldn’t resist ordering these striped paper straws off Etsy, which were used to sip sparkling lemonade, and there was also iced tea, with honey as sweetener for those who wanted it. I also impulsively bought some Teddy Grahams, which William had a delightful time passing out one by one to each guest.

I thought I had uploaded a better picture of it, but here is my attempt at a homemade Pin-the-Tail-on-Eeyore game. I sketched the picture of Eeyore from an image I found online, painted it with watercolors, and taped it to a thick piece of cardboard before mounting it on our bookshelf. The only problem was, while working on it, neither Sam nor I could figure out the proper position for Eeyore’s eyes. The original illustration proved unhelpful, and all my attempts looked creepy or wacky. So we finally went with the assumption that he must be looking down, and his eyes are sort of hidden because of the position of his head. This was probably the most time-consuming and labor-intensive project of the whole party, including the blindfold I also sewed and the yarn-ribbon-and-pushpin tails, certainly ridiculous when you consider it was just something people were going to poke holes in and probably never use again, but I don’t regret it. After all, what is a birthday party without Pin-the-Tail-on-the-Donkey, and what donkey could be more welcome at a Pooh-themed gathering than Eeyore?

And, last but not least, here is the birthday boy, enjoying his first unofficial gift, a foam “chair” Grandpa brought him from work. More present-opening pictures coming soon (especially for you, Mal!), and maybe some additional ideas I didn’t get worked into the party, but that I still humbly think are pretty cute or clever, and I would love to have someone steal for their own Winnie-the-Pooh birthday party or baby shower or whatever the occasion may be. Be sure to link to pictures or tell me about it in the comments if you do!

